Raith Rovers v Alloa Athletic

0 - 0
Full Time

KO KO 56 71 71 81 FT


It was a bit of a dead rubber for Alloa with qualification already denied after defeats to Cowdenbeath and Brechin. Raith though needed a win to guarantee not nervously looking toward the score of the Livingston vs Cowdenbeath tie at the end of the day.

Jamie Macdonald almost made a hash of the first Alloa opportunity as he nearly fumbled a Taggart freekick into the path of the on-rushing Conor Sammon, but gathered at the second attempt.

But it was the home side carved out most of the chances but the new signing, David Hutton and his capable two in front of Andy Graham and Craig Howie put life and limb in the way of every Raith opportunity.

In the second half Alloa had an incisive opening but Steven Boyd cutting in on his left foot could only roll it past the post. Sammon was also denied as he broke into the box, his opening effort blocked, the second was a venomous shot at Macdonald’s front post. It received a strong set of hands to parry wide.

Raith substitute Varian would flick over inside the six yard box. The Raith missed opportunities were very reminiscent of the final day in 2017-18 when the Kirkaldy side were held to the loss of league title and promotion to the Championship.

But the game fizzled out to penalties. Sammon’s opening penalty was saved in an otherwise flawless shootout. Taggart, Scougall, Graham and King netting for Alloa. While Benedictus, Keatings, Spencer and Varian fired past Hutton, before Vaughan, the man who hit the post in the final minutes back in 2017-18, stepped up to secure the bonus point win and Raith’s qualification as group winners. They were joined by Livingston after a 3-1 win over Cowdenbeath saw them through as one of the three best runner’s up.

Alloa Athletic

31David Hutton Goalkeeper
2Scott Taggart Defender
5Andy Graham Defender
4Craig Howie Defender
3Daniel Church Defender
8Jon Robertson Midfielder
11Steven Boyd Forward
16Adam King Midfielder
12Stefan Scougall Midfielder
20Cameron O’Donnell 9 Midfielder
18Conor Sammon Forward
21Craig McDowall Goalkeeper
9Ben Armour 20 Forward
17Jordan Armstrong Defender
22Devan McColl Midfielder
25Ben Ramage Defender