"at the heart of the community"

  • Sign In

    Cruel late goal 

    24 July 2010 17:41:11

    "The Wasps" lost a last minute goal at Dens Park today against Alba Challenge Cup holders Dundee to lose 2-1, in a game five minutes earlier they looked like progressing to the next round. Alloa Athletic, who are the last team to beat Dundee in the Challenge Cup having defeated the Dens Park side 2-1 at Recreation Park in Season 2008/09 can again take great credit from the game. Dundee started the game the stronger side and although they had the best of the first half play, they had little or no penetration. In the second half Alloa grew with confidence and took the lead on 74 mins when Scott Walker headed in a Kevin McDonald cross. Two minutes later the game could have been all over when Andy Scott curled a 25 yard shot of the crossbar with Scott Fox beaten. However four minutes from time substitute Colin McMenamin headed home a great cross from debutant Gary Irvine and in the final minute with the home side side now looking more direct, the ball broke kindly for other substitute Sean Higgins who lashed home a shot past Alloa keeper Robertson for a late winner the home side barely deserved.

    Kevin McDonald & Leigh Griffths

    Scott Walker goal

    Alloa players celebrate goal at Dens Park

    Alloa fans celebrate at Dens Park

    Andy Scott ready to shoot

    Teamsheet Season 2010/11

    Alloa Athletic v. Dundee
    Alba Challenge Cup
    Saturday 24th July, 2010 Kick-Off 3.00pm

    1. Stephen Robertson                               1. Scott Fox
    2. Billy Gibson                                          2. Gary Irvine Bkd 89m
    3. Mark Brown Bkd 62m                         3. Craig Forsyth
    4. Michael Dunlop                                    4. Brian Kerr
    5. Scott Walker                                        5. Craig McKeown
    6. John Grant Bkd 37m                            6. Kyle Benedictus
    7. Andy Scott                                           7. Nicky Riley
    8. Kevin McDonald                                  8. Stephen O’Donnell
    9. Bryan Prunty                                         9. Mickael Antoine-Curier
    10. Stuart Noble                                      10. Gary Harkins
    11. Darren Smith                                      11. Leigh Griffths

    12. David Gormley (10) 66m                    14. Sean Higgins (9) 69m
    14. James Lister (9) 66m                          15. Eric Paton
    15. Jamie Hay                                          16. Colin McMenamin (7) 69m
    16. Declan McAvoy (7) 81m                    17. Paul McHale (4) 80m
    20. Jamie Ewings                                      20. Rab Douglas

    Referee : Euan Norris Assistants: Gordon Middleton & Jeff Banks

    1 – 0 Scott Walker (74 mins)
    1 – 1 Colin McMenamin (86 mins)
    1 – 2 Sean Higgins (90 mins) Crowd – 1,522

    Managers Corner