"at the heart of the community"

  • Sign In


    31 May 2017 17:04:07
    The SPFL is pleased to announce the seeding pots and numbers for this Friday’s 2017 Betfred Cup Group Stage draw.

    The draw will be conducted live on BT Sport 2 at 6.30pm this Friday (2 June), as well as being streamed live and free-to-view on BT Sport’s Facebook page and Twitter feed @btsportfootball, with the live stream shared by the SPFL’s own social media channels.

    The draw comprises 40 clubs: the 38 SPFL clubs not participating in European competitions plus East Kilbride (Lowland League champions) and Buckie Thistle (Highland League champions).

    The format of the 2017 Betfred Cup Group Stage draw is as follows:

    The draw will produce eight groups of five teams on a regionalised basis - four ‘North’ groups and four ‘South’ groups.

    - All eight groups will be made up of one 1st seed, one 2nd seed and three unseeded clubs.

    - Prior to the draw the 40 participating teams are placed into one of three pots based on league positions at the end of season 2016/17 – 8 x 1st seeds, 8 x 2nd seeds and 24 x unseeded teams. 

    Each of the pots is then individually split into two equal halves: North and South
    8 x 1st seeds = 4 x North and 4 x South;
    8 x 2nd seeds = 4 x North and 4 x South;
    24 x Unseeded = 12 x North and 12 x South.

    The 2017 Betfred Cup will kick off another season of Scottish football and follows a hugely successful first year in the competition’s unique format which saw a number of innovations introduced. BT Sport continue as broadcast partner of the Betfred Cup for a second season.

    The Group Stage draw sees the 40 participating clubs scheduled to play four games across five match dates – 15 July, 19 July, 22 July, 26 July and 29 July (subject to broadcast selections).

    The format, announced in advance of the 2016 Betfred Cup, sees all drawn Group Stage matches go straight to a penalty shoot-out with the winners earning an extra ‘bonus point’ in addition to the traditional point given for a draw. 

    The eight group winners and four best runners-up progress to the last 16 where they are joined by holders Celtic and fellow European representatives Aberdeen, Rangers and St Johnstone.

    It is anticipated that, following Friday’s evening’s 2017 Betfred Cup Group Stage draw, the fixture list and TV selections will be published week commencing Monday, 5 June.

    North section - first seeds
    1 Heart of Midlothian    
    2 Ross County    
    3 Dundee    
    4 Inverness Caledonian Thistle    
    North section - second seeds
    9 Hibernian    
    10 Falkirk    
    11 Dundee United    
    12 Dunfermline Athletic    
    North section – unseeded teams
    17 Raith Rovers    
    18 Alloa Athletic    
    19 Brechin City    
    20 East Fife    
    21 Peterhead    
    22 Arbroath    
    23 Forfar Athletic    
    24 Montrose    
    25 Elgin City    
    26 Stirling Albion    
    27 Cowdenbeath    
    28 Buckie Thistle    
    South section - first seeds
    5 Partick Thistle    
    6 Kilmarnock    
    7 Motherwell    
    8 Hamilton Academical    
    South section - second seeds
    13 Morton    
    14 Queen of the South    
    15 St Mirren    
    16 Dumbarton    
    South section – unseeded teams
    29 Ayr United    
    30 Livingston    
    31 Airdrieonians    
    32 Queen's Park    
    33 Stranraer    
    34 Albion Rovers    
    35 Stenhousemuir    
    36 Annan Athletic    
    37 Edinburgh City
    38 Berwick Rangers    
    39 Clyde    
    40 East Kilbride    

    Managers Corner